2023 NJECC Student Challenge Award Winners

The mini-documentary student challenge focused on utilizing digital storytelling skills to capture and share a narrative from their local community that highlights something unifying their school around a common goal.   

This year's winners are:

Grade Level (6-8, 9-12) School (District) Title of Documentary Link to Documentary (YouTube)
First Place 9-12 Academy360 Upper School/Private The Show Must Go On https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJMel_9bXfQ
Second Place 9-12 Cicely Tyson Middle/High School (East Orange) Powering Through Covid https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMU5pNHVRSs
First Place 6-8 Newton Public Schools Music's Unity https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbh6Txbs0ys&t=0s
Second Place 6-8 Upper Saddle River/Cavallini Middle School My Story - Mrs. Ullrich https://youtu.be/QeWvfNgqGHM 


Congratulations to all the winners. Each winning team received a prize courtesy of Eduscape and NJECC, an award certificate, and a letter of recognition to their superintendent. We think these creative students and really all of the resilient students who have persevered throughout this pandemic will be the future leaders we need to change schools and the world for the better. Perhaps they will be our nation’s next “Greatest Generation”.